Island voters make their choices

It took until about noon on Wednesday, November 9 to get the full and final results in this year’s election in New Shoreham. There were of course, plenty of write-in votes to tabulate and at Town Hall members of the Board of Canvassers were busy in the vault poring over the ballots. This time none were for Donald Duck or Goofy.When election papers were filed last June, residents were surprised to learn that all the candidates for Town Council were running unopposed, and there were fewer candidates than positions.Current council member Keith Stover ran unopposed for First Warden, Second Warden Sven Risom was unopposed in his bid to remain in that position, and there were only two candidates for the three open council seats – incumbent Martha Ball (Democrat) and Steven Filippi (Independent).Stover garnered 653 votes for First Warden and there were 17 write-ins. Of those, about half were for former First Wardens, including Andre Boudreau, Ken Lacoste, Ed McGovern, and Kim Gaffett.In the “race” for Second Warden, Risom had 631 votes and there were 14 write-ins. Stover got two of those votes and 12 people got one vote each, including Les Slate.Slate, who passed away on Memorial

Read the rest of the article on the Block Island Times